IMEC Announces Five Recipients of the 2019 IMEC Awards for Excellence

Peoria, IL – (November 22, 2019) IMEC has announced five organizations as recipients of the IMEC Recognition Program’s 2019 Awards for Excellence. The high-performing organizations were evaluated against the Baldrige Excellence Framework by the IMEC Board of Examiners as part of the annual application process. Application scores and award determinations are made by the IMEC Panel of Judges.

“The IMEC Awards for Excellence recognizes those organizations in Illinois that are true role models of a commitment to enterprise excellence,” said Ben Krupowicz, Executive Director of the IMEC Recognition Program. “The five recipients of the 2019 awards have not only driven awareness and performance improvement internally while inspiring other organizations across the state to pursue enterprise excellence. The 2019 Award for Excellence recipients show dedication to the process, using the IMEC Recognition Program application and feedback report as a driver for continuous improvement. This truly sets them apart as members of the class of distinction.”

The IMEC Silver Award for Excellence is granted to those organizations that demonstrate a systematic and effective approach to continuous improvement as guided by the Baldrige Excellence Framework.  IMEC Silver Award recipients show growth towards excellence in the areas of leadership; strategy; customers; measurement, analysis, and knowledge management; workforce; operations; and results.

The 2019 IMEC Silver Award for Excellence recipients are:

Advocate Sherman Hospital – Elgin
Advocate Sherman is part of Advocate Aurora Health, the 10th largest not-for-profit, integrated health system in the United States. Advocate Sherman Hospital is an acute care hospital with highly skilled physicians and clinical professionals, who have provided high-quality, comprehensive, and compassionate health care to the patients and communities of Chicago’s Northwest suburbs for more than 125 years. Comprehensive and recognized programs include cardiology, oncology, neurosciences, orthopedics, and women’s health. The hospital also features a Level II Trauma center, plus an emergency department approved pediatrics, backed by the resources of Advocate Children’s Hospital.

HSHS St. Anthony’s Memorial Hospital – Effingham
Since 1875, HSHS St. Anthony’s Memorial Hospital has provided for the health care needs of the residents of the Effingham community and the south-central region of Illinois. St. Anthony’s is one of 15 hospitals in Hospital Sisters Health System (HSHS), a health care ministry with hospitals and multi­specialty medical groups in Illinois and Wisconsin. HSHS is sponsored by Hospital Sisters Ministries, and Hospital Sisters of St. Francis is the founding institute. St. Anthony’s Memorial Hospital is a 133-bed licensed acute care facility, providing inpatient, ambulatory, home health and hospice, with more than 800 colleagues and over 70 physicians on its Medical Staff. St. Anthony’s approach to health care combines its Core Values of Respect, Care, Competence and Joy with the most modern technologies available today. Being honored by IMEC is an example of the continuous quality improvements undertaken by St. Anthony’s, also seen in their achievement of the Illinois Health and Hospital Association (IHA) Innovation Challenge: Partners in Progress Award from IHA’s Institute for Innovations in Care and Quality, as well as receiving The Joint Commission’s Gold Seal of Approval® for Advanced Certification for Total Hip and Total Knee Replacement.

Saint Anthony Hospital – Chicago
For more than a century, Saint Anthony Hospital has been a community-centered organization, serving more than 400,000 residents on Chicago’s West and Southwest Sides. Saint Anthony Hospital, its affiliated clinics, including the 5-star rated Dialysis Center, and community wellness centers provide quality health and wellness services, as well as a wide variety of bilingual community health education, counseling and mental health programs.  Most recently, Saint Anthony Hospital was ranked #2 in Illinois by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) for Patient Safety. 

The IMEC Bronze Award for Excellence is granted to those organizations that demonstrate systematic approaches to the basic requirements of the Baldrige Criteria for Performance Excellence.  IMEC Bronze Award recipients show beginning stages of identifying and using systematic processes and collecting data to reflect early results in areas of leadership; strategy; customers; measurement, analysis, and knowledge management; workforce; operations; and results.

The 2019 Bronze Award for Excellence recipients are:

ACCIONA North American Energy (AENA) – Chicago
ACCIONA is a global operator in renewables with 30 years’ experience in the sector and 9,851 megawatts (MW) under its ownership, spread across 16 countries on the five continents. It has 224 wind farms, 76 hydropower stations, 6 large photovoltaic plants, 3 biomass plants and a CSP plant. In North America, ACCIONA has more than 1,000 MW of wind energy online and under construction and has a pipeline of more than 3,000 MW of solar PV with the possibility of adding up to 1,000 MW of co-located energy storage. In addition to selling energy on the wholesale market, the company markets energy to large clients. 

Community Consolidated School District 93 – Bloomingdale
Community Consolidated School District 93 (CCSD93) is an elementary school district, which serves a diverse community of students in preschool through eighth grade from Carol Stream, Bloomingdale, and Hanover Park, Illinois. CCSD93’s mission is to strive to maximize the academic, social and emotional potential of each student. Its vision is to inspire students to build the future. CCSD93’s students will have the skills to be entrepreneurs, global collaborators, and creators; be prepared for anything their future has to offer; and be ready to help the world achieve its potential. Approximately 3,600 students are enrolled in the district’s nine schools. The district’s Early Childhood Center houses classrooms for preschool students. K-5 students are taught at six elementary buildings: Carol Stream, Cloverdale, Elsie Johnson, Heritage Lakes, Roy DeShane, and Western Trails. Two middle schools, Jay Stream and Stratford, serve students in grades 6-8. For more on CCSD93, please visit www.ccsd93.com.

The 2019 IMEC Board of Examiners – comprised of 52 experts in business, manufacturing, education, health care and government – volunteered over 7,500 hours assessing applicants. The IMEC Panel of Judges is responsible for validating the integrity of the IMEC Awards for Excellence recognition process and determining recognition levels for each applicant. The panel is composed of experts selected from all industry sectors and geographic regions across the state of Illinois.

For more information on how your organization can benefit from services provided by the IMEC Recognition Program, visit www.imec.org or call 888-806-4632.

For more information on the Baldrige Performance Excellence Program, visit www.nist.gov/baldrige/.


About IMEC

IMEC leverages the Baldrige Excellence Framework as a foundation for driving organizational improvement and innovation across the state of Illinois. By providing a range of hands-on, goal-oriented solutions in the areas of leadership; strategy; customer engagement; measurement, analysis, and knowledge management; operations; and workforce, IMEC leads organizations in their mission to improve business results and to create sustainable competitive futures. Through the Recognition Program, IMEC celebrates the organizations committed to achieving enterprise excellence and sets them apart as a true class of distinction.

Can we help you find something?

Start typing and press Enter to search